Noise Pop 2009 Starts Tonight!

noisepop09_logosheetjpgThe 17th annual Noise Pop Festival begins tonight in San Francisco with a free opening night party at Mezzanine, a special Antony and the Johnsons show and an installment of City Arts & Lectures’ Talking Music Series with John Darnielle of The Mountain Goats in conversation with author Tobias Wolff. And this is just the first night mind you.

Noise Pop runs from February 24 through March 1, 2009 at venues throughout San Francisco and feature headliners including Bob Mould, Stephen Malkmus, Josh Ritter (joined by a string quartet), The Mountain Goats, A.C. Newman, Sleepy Sun, French Kicks, Matt Costa, Thao Nguyen, Martha Wainright, From Monument to Masses, Thee Oh Sees, Kool Keith, Mike Relm, St Vincent, The Morning Benders, The Submarines, Ra Ra Riot, Dear and the Headlights, Port O’Brien, Portugal. The Man, Flosstradamus, N.A.S.A., No Age, Les Savy Fav and more!

The artists set to perform at Noise Pop 2009 have been collected by us at Future Perfect Radio and compiled into a special radio channel for your pleasure. Preview the festival, decide which acts to see, or -- for those of us painfully far away from San Francisco -- crank up the music, close your eyes and pretend you're there. The fun begins at Future Perfect Radio. Tune in today!